Thinking about it!

Coz there’s lot to be discussed…

The Music Therapy

Music has been a constant mate for me for the last few years. For me, there are a number of occasions when it throws me from one mood zone to other whenever I so desire. It is such a powerful tool to charge you up when you are up for a contest. I still remember when a good friend always used to play the song “Final Countdown” to get into the mood to go and smash everything that came his way in volleyball matches. The song just charged him up to get going and give his energetic best.

Music works as a similar therapy to me as well. When on my way back after a long day in office and a longer day on the roads I use music to hit me back into the zone. I come back home a lot fresher when I listen to some classic hit numbers or some country music. So many times I would have been singing along “Wonderwall” in my car from the last red light I face on the road to my home. By the time I reach home I seem to have left all the bad times in the day aside. Sometimes when my mind is wandering too many places, it works fantastically well to listen to some soothing numbers. Or sometimes, music gets me into a festive mood when I play some good and peppy numbers at a loud(er) volume.

Where I am drawing to is that music tends to take your mind away from its current state and puts you in the mood as per the occasion. There is something that engrosses you so much that you tend to float with the tempo. Broadly speaking, I feel music can work as an excellent way to get people doing what you want them to. I am reminded of how my batchmates used to find it amazing the way Prof Debashish Chatterjee used to play soft music in the background and still manage to grab all the attention. I am inclined to believe that the music actually aided in grabbing all the attention. (I was unlucky not to have attended a single session by him). I personally have not been to a spa but am sure they would be using music as a therapy along with all the massages and oils that they use to soothe one down.

All in all, music for me has been a big aide in helping me suit my behaviour to the situation. It keeps me going. It soothes, it questions, it relieves, it provokes and it changes me as and how I wish to. Right away I am listening to some sanskrit chants(it is 7:30 in the morning) and my mind relaxes even more as I listen to them. What are you listening to?

April 29, 2008 - Posted by | Movies Music and etc.

2 Comments »

  1. Ramaayan and Hanuman Chaalisa 🙂

    Comment by Nitai | April 29, 2008 | Reply

  2. Vedic Chants Dude.

    Comment by Nishith | April 29, 2008 | Reply


Leave a comment